Providence Transition Advisory Council (TAC)


The members of this council meet monthly to receive national and state level information on the latest trends and initiatives specific to the area of transition and assist in the planning of district level transition-related activities. The Transition Advisory Council provides a forum for teachers to be aware of current information regarding agencies, legal issues, best practices and state-wide activities. In addition, concerns at the school and district level can be brought to the attention of others in the region and to the state level. Networking with other professional and parent representatives allows collaboration to solve problems and share resources. Each middle school and high school should have a representative on the Transition Advisory Council. If you would like more information about this group, please contact Nancy.Stevenin@ppsd.org

Roles and Responsibilities of the TAC Member

  • Attend monthly meetings
  • Serve in the capacity as school representative for transition, promoting best practices by:
    • providing inservice training at the building level
    • modeling best practices
    • participating in district and statewide transition focused activities
    • providing technical assistance to colleagues
  • Distribute transition information to colleagues and appropriate contact people building wide
  • Serve as a liaison between your school and the Regional Transition Coordinator
  • Serve on subcommittees related to transition at the state level as needed or requested
  • Take a leadership role in the development of transition policies and procedures in your school as needed
  • Periodically survey training needs of building personnel and facilitate the service with the Regional Transition Coordinator
  • Contribute in the development and participate in the student/parent events sponsored by the Regional Transition Coordinator
  • At a minimum, facilitate one family's participation at the College Forum each school year - high school representatives only

2013


2011-2012 Meeting Dates:

Date

Topic/Speaker

Meeting Minutes

September 15, 2011
797 Westminister
Providence TAC 09.15.11.doc
October 20, 2011
Outside Agencies &
PCTA Tour
TAC Meeting 10.20.doc
December 16, 2011
Transition Academy @JWU - Steve Kidd

January 26, 2012
State Meeting - Radisson

February 16, 2012
Outside Agencies & CCRI

March 15, 2012
Job Corp

April 26, 2012
Jane Slade (RIDE) / Work Certificate & Alt Assessment

June 1, 2012
Wrap Up

TAC Membership

Name

School

Email

Ernie Pacheco
Roger Williams Middle School
ernest.pacheco@ppsd.org
Kathleen McDonough
Nathanael Greene Middle School
kathleen.mcdonough@ppsd.org
Heather Longo
Alvarez High School
heather.longo@ppsd.org
Joeanna Cruz
RIPIN -RI Parent Info Network
cruz@ripin.org
Sheila Boudreau
Hope HS
sheila.boudreau@ppsd.org
Karen Muir
E Cubed Academy
karen.muir@ppsd.org
Linda Jenner
Juanita Sanchez Complex
linda.jenner@ppsd.org
Richard Ardito
Gilbert Stuart Middle School
richard.ardito@ppsd.org
Julie Lombardi
DelSesto Middle School
julie.lombardi@ppsd.org
Samboeun Gee
Central High School
samboeun.gee@ppsd.org
Robyn Peterson
Esek Hopkins Middle School
robyn.peterson@ppsd.org
Nancy Stevenin
Administration
Nancy.Stevenin@ppsd.org
Lizabeth Mattson
Central High School
lizabeth.mattson@ppsd.org
Melanie Laurito
Mt. Pleasant High School
melanie.laurito@ppsd.org
Jamie Christina
Textron Chamber of Commerce
jchristinatextron@yahoo.com
Tribbie Zarra
Providence Career Tech.Acad.
tribbie.zarra@ppsd.org
Kim Shangraw
Providence Transition Academy
kimberly.shangraw@ppsd.org
Christine Yankee
Goodwill

Amanda D'Alesscio
Goodwill

Teresa DiMattia
Office of Rehab. Services
teresasd@ors.ri.gov
Valerie Williams
Office of Rehab. Services
vwilliams@ors.ri.gov




Prior Meeting Minutes


Month

Minutes

Misc

June 2010


Sept, 2010


Nov 2010


Nov 2010


Dec 2010


Jan 2011


Feb 2011
Advance Transition at Radisson

Mar 2011


May 2011





100_2838.JPG100_2839.JPG

David Sienko presenting at the Statewide TAC Meeting, November 2010